Happy 62nd Birthday Arianna Huffington

Arianna Huffington

Arianna turns 62 on July 15th. I am getting a head start on this story.

I am pretty sure that everyone who reads DigiDame knows who Arianna Huffington is. If you don’t, I encourage you to read on to get inspired and learn some very important life lessons:

1. You can be relevant in the digital world or any world when you are a senior citizen.

2. A woman changed the media landscape by creating a blog that combined original content with collaboration and aggregation. Huffington Post attracts more readers than the New York Times. (According to UK Telegraph story below, the Huffington Post became the most visited English-language news source in the world, outranking even America’s so-called “Gray Lady”, The New York Times, attacting 60 million unique monthly visitors. It recently won the coveted Pulitzer prize for journalism and has attracted more than 155 million comments since it started.)

3. You can be single and still be invited to parties for couples only.

Last week I was feeling sorry for myself and our client because I had to be the PR representative for Westinghouse Digital at a trade show. I had a head cold, my nose was running, my eyes were drooping and I probably looked 100 years old. When I went to the ladies room to wash my hands, I looked into the mirror and saw young, perky PR gals to my left and right. I wanted to run into the streets screaming “Who stole my youth?” Somehow, I managed to get more press appointments and more editorial coverage for our client than any of those stunning, skinny, trendy, sexy numbers did for theirs.

No question, my competition is far better to look at, but I am going to keep on pretending that I am Arianna Huffington. If she can do it, so can I (and you can too)!

Please read the following story. It talks a lot about the economy, the future of journalism, and the pace of one red hot mama.

How Arianna Huffington has breathed new life into the media – Telegraph

One thought on “Happy 62nd Birthday Arianna Huffington

Leave a Reply

