The Mike Todd/Elizabeth Taylor Wedding

cakeplay

At 65, many of us are winding down. We have either retired or are planning to retire.

Not my friend Al Kahn. He is starting all over again, not only personally but professionally as well. I want to tell his story because I feel it is very inspiring to many of us who want to continue our careers without giving age another thought.

Al got married this weekend. He is 65. The three-day, storybook wedding in the Berkshires, was like a Broadway production. I have included some videos below so that you can see one of the most extravagant and creative weddings ever. I will tell you more about the event itself but that is not the message I want to convey in this post.

While I was watching Al, a very successful entertainment businessman, marry Jillian Crane, an accomplished actress/writer, it occured to me that he was starting his life all over again while I was allowing mine to slow down because society expects women my age to throw in the towel, smell the roses, and prepare for end of life challenges. Why am I any different than Al? The answer to that is because I have willingly categorized myself as an official senior citizen kvetching about my stiff joints, acid reflux, and sagging skin.

I watched Al this weekend reinvent his life as if he was 30. The age of his new wife doesn’t really factor in to how he plans to spend the next few decades. I know Al pretty well and he wasn’t attracted to Jillian because of her age but because he found a life partner that wants to work with him to create, produce, and develop plays, movies, TV shows, licensing projects, new products, and services.

Al has already had an amazing career being the one responsible for bringing Cabbage Patch, Pokeman, Yu-Gi-Oh, plus so many others products and concepts to market. Read about him here. He and Jillian have so many projects in development it would make your head spin. He is also involved in helping a lot of digital start-ups develop marketing plans, understand their business model, and raise funds.

So while I watched him this weekend act and behave like he was 25 years my junior, I realized that in many ways he was much younger than me in his thinking and attitude. Life is all about new opportunities and Al is not about to let something called “age” stand in his way.

Al’s theatrial wedding production to Jillian was not about what money can buy (even though in this case it bought a lot) but rather it was a sneak preview of what their lives will be like together. The marriage ceremony in a historical theater was a musical production. The Russian theme thoughout all of the events was to celebrate their first date at the Russian Tea Room. His performance singing “Some Enchanted Evening” was to signify the foundation of their romantic relationship, and the special fireworks represented the magical sparks they will create together.

I videotaped some special moments on my iPhone. Have patience. I didn’t have the proper lighting and audio while taping from my seat in the audience. They get better as they roll along.

If you can’t view the videos, go to http://www.digidame.com. Don’t miss this opportunity to see each one of the quick segments.

7 thoughts on “The Mike Todd/Elizabeth Taylor Wedding

  1. I went to one of those weddings last year. Among other out of this world experiences, the bride’s mother commissioned a ballet to “their” song. Much younger bride and groom though. I think age allows you to slow down and smell the roses if you want to, but that doesn’t mean you have to roll over and wait for death. Instead live with wisdom.

  2. a most loving and romantic wedding – at any age… they are ‘forever young’… in heart and spirit… Mazel Tov to the newlyweds and thank you for sharing their special day!

  3. OMG- Lois, merci mille fois for this post! I am a longtime friend of Jillian’s from her single days in LA, and I was transported to the Berkshires via your videos. THANK YOU. I love your wonderful perspective on Al’s “reinvention” as inspiration for all, no matter what age. Your friend Al is an extraordinary man. And my friend Jillian is also a truly remarkable woman. Her talents are numerous, her beauty always aglow, But more importantly, her heart, spirit and her creativity transcend all that. I love Jillian and am deeply moved by her theatrical nuptials as ceremony, and the metaphor for us all to be courageous enough to take center stage of our own life’s theatre of to create a life of possibility and meaning. Congratulations Jillian and Al. I know your union will continue to produce bountiful blessings for the world! And Jillian, just remember I knew you when… love and kisses!!

  4. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the
    favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!
    I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  5. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  6. To cater the accommodation needs of the visitors, Delhi offers numerous hotels.

    Many Scottish Ceilidh Bands now present an evening including things like both Ceilidh Dancing and Disco music.
    Travel, tourism and hotel businesses are the largest sectors and many frequent travelers
    would rather book their next destination for the go irrespective of contacting travel agencies and
    paying extra bills.

Leave a Reply

