The Secret Life of Seniors

Make sure you view Ida's run at 97 years old in the video below

Make sure you view Ida’s run at 97 years old in the video below

I thought we needed a little inspiration today. It started out with a big boom outside our window on East 62nd Street. Eliot was in the other room when I heard him yell out, “Someone got hit by a car.” I quickly looked outside our window. I looked down. Ten floors below, I saw a woman was pinned under a car, with only her head sticking out. The man driving the car was standing next to her in shock. Within 15 seconds a fire engine showed up, follow by police cars, ambulances, and more fire trucks. The first responders went into action. They tried to lift the car off her but minutes later a rescue team showed up with some sort of a hand lift and yanked it up. She was immediately freed, covered, strapped onto a board, picked up on a gurney, and swiftly wheeled into the ambulance. The siren wailed, and off they went.

I called down to my doorman to find out what had happened, but he was so out of breath that I didn’t want to ask him any further questions. All he could squeak out was that a woman crossed in the middle of the street and got hit. Perhaps he was overwhelmed because the accident happened just a few feet from our front door.

I don’t know if she survived, but I sure hope so. Watching all the firemen, policemen, and emergency medical squad work in unison from so many flights up was like watching a perfectly staged production. They didn’t miss a beat. Fifteen minutes later the street was cleared and normal traffic resumed. No one walking down the block at that point would ever have known the trauma that took place minutes before.

That is why, when I saw Lisa Ling’s segment on YouTube about the Secret Life of Seniors, I decided to post on it today. Ling is best known as a former co-host on ABC’s “The View.” She now reports on “Our America with Lisa Ling” on OWN, the Oprah Winfrey Network, where she profiled Ida, a 97-year-old runner. I loved seeing the long duration of Ida’s life, how active she is, and how people treat her. She recently competed in an open race with runners half her age. What you will witness is nothing short of amazing. Keep watching the video until the very end, because Ida can not only run, she is quite a dancer.

I guess it doesn’t matter how old you are, anything can happen, at any time. I am sure Ida has had a lifetime filled with both sorrow and happiness. It probably all evens out in the end. Just keep active!

3 thoughts on “The Secret Life of Seniors

  1. Just got back from a cruise and was struck by the juxtaposition of the first responders in your blog and the recent cut back on firefighters. I haven’t been home long enough to understand the details, but it feels sad.

  2. how inspirational … made me cry a little too… happy tears for the 97-year old runner in Lisa Ling’s report… and missing my Mom who would have been 97 this June…

Leave a Reply

