I Need a New Zone

20130304-173623.jpg

I have been feeling very jumpy lately. I am talking about that nervous feeling, the kind that makes me on edge periodically during the day. There is nothing going on to cause this feeling. I am manufacturing it. I have been doing it my whole life.

There have been long stretches when this doesn’t happen. It usually occurs when there are fewer demands in my life. I know you may be questioning my last statement because my work is constantly filled with daily demands. Those demands are not as intense as caring for an ailing parent, dealing with troubled children, having health issues, or financial challenges. When those situations occur, I find my inner strength and focus on my responsibilities.

It’s the downtime when my mind goes wild. I worry about everything. If I am reading a book, and Eliot walks into the room unexpectedly and starts talking to me, I freak. “Don’t do that to me,” I yell. “Do what?” he answers. “Scare me,” I respond. “You’re nuts,” he continues. I don’t tell him how nuts I really am. Sometimes when I wake up during the night I find myself agitated about something that happened a week, months, or years ago. I pretend I am having a conversation with the person who irritated me, and boy do I tell him or her off.

I hate living with this negative energy. That is why I took particular interest in a new meditation smartphone app that claims it could lead me to “life-altering” inner peace. HeartMath, maker of Inner Balance, says their system can help you relax and get your heart, mind, and emotions in check.

Now before you say that I am going all woo-woo on you, let me say that I tried biofeedback 31 years ago. I became so relaxed that I got pregnant when we were not even trying. I don’t have to worry about that outcome now, so here I go again. I went for biofeedback way back when because I was having trouble dealing with the death of my father. The goal with Inner Balance is to re-teach myself how to relax and keep me away from self-imposed panic attacks.

The app uses a sensor that clips onto your earlobe and attaches to your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch. The app displays your reaction level as it helps you concentrate on your breathing. Yes, you can do this on your own, but this teaches you how to self-regulate.

Inner Balance helps you concentrate on your breathing, clearing your mind of negative emotions. Its ear clip, called “emWave technology,” is basically measuring your pulse. This helps you understand what sorts of thoughts and relaxation techniques are working the best for you, effectively training you to alter the way you react to stressful situations. You buy the sensor online. When the app’s color turns green, that indicates total relaxation.

Good luck to all of us.

20130304-173651.jpg

Leave a Reply

