The Future of Eyeglasses

20130318-213310.jpg

The minute I saw this idea I said this is for me. I don’t know what eye doctors are going to think about it but boy does this make sense, if it works. In a few years, you may be wearing prescription eyeglasses that you can adjust by just turning a knob. How cool is that? I would personally love that option because for many years, I just don’t feel like I am getting the proper prescriptions. I have progressive glasses and I often feel the bottom prescription was meant for the top and the top for the bottom. I find myself tilting my head in all kinds of directions to get a clear picture. This is true for near and far.

I have wanted to go back to the optometrist but I believe that my eyesight is changing all the time. One minute I can see something clear, the next minute it is foggy. How do you explain that to your doctor? Plus the fact, I start off each day reading multiple newspapers and magazines on my iPhone. I wake up around 4:30am, check the clock, and realize that I have been given extra hours to catch up on the news. I am usually so excited that I don’t dare go back to sleep. In order to focus on the iPhone type, I just close one eye and read away. I don’t know why but you can’t read content on an iPhone with two eyes open. At least it doesn’t work for me.

I want a pair of glasses I can adjust. To find out if this is for real, I contacted Roy Furchgott of The New York Times, who recently authored an article on this topic. We know each other from the tech industry and he was very obliging. He reminded me that if I click all of the links in his story, I will read about several manufacturers entering the adjustable prescription glass business. He said he tried the adjustable glasses out and most brands work nicely. “Yet, there are those people who have trouble focusing because of other eye conditions. They haven’t had the same kind of success with this new technology as others. But the glasses do work. They are so affordable too. Eighty dollars is a great price for eyeglasses. Click here to read Furchgott’s story.

20130318-213342.jpg

20130318-213333.jpg

Leave a Reply

