iPhone 6 Plus Forces Fashion Industry To Rethink The Pocket

IMG_1035.JPG
Left to right: The iPhone 6 Plus, the iPhone 6 and the iPhone 5
IMAGE: MASHABLE

A few friends in the fashion industry have recently told me that larger pants/slacks pockets are going to be a key feature in casual clothing for the Spring season. It seems consumer research, among loyal fans for a number of brands, show that the phablet, the mega-sized mobile phone, is here to stay, at least for the foreseeable future.

I guess I’m a prime example of why this is true. When I owned both an iPhone and a mini iPad at the same time, I mostly used the smaller device. It was easier to hold and much easier to manipulate. That’s why, when I lost my mini iPad a few months ago, I didn’t rush out to buy a new one. I wanted to see if the new iPhone 6 Plus would offer a better user experience for me. I will get my new phone in a few weeks.

People feel very devoted to the Samsung Galaxy. The phablet (half phone, half tablet) allows them to have a larger screen to read books and magazines while still providing a fully-featured mobile phone. Now the iPhone has two new larger-screened sizes, a 4.7-inch called the iPhone 6, and a 5.5-inch dubbed the iPhone 6 Plus. The iPad Mini, has a 7.9-inch display.

The big dilemma for most consumers who want to buy a phablet is where to store it? Cell phones easily slipped into a pants pocket or a tiny purse. I thought about this myself. The best way for me not to lose my cell is to put it in my pocket. This way I can physically feel it all the time. I can never find my iPhone in my handbag. The minute I put it in the side compartment or in the center, it falls into a big black hole. Five seconds after I put it in my bag, I go into a complete panic trying to locate it again.

Mashable, the tech site, recently surveyed designers to see their reaction to the phablet. Big changes are coming. While this may be a challenge for some design houses, others see this as a huge opportunity to sell clothes with new pocket dimensions. Click here to read what American Eagle, J. Crew, L.L. Bean, Levi’s, and Lee Jeans said about new pocket designs.

Leave a Reply

