The Remnants Of A Lovely Meal

IMG_2876.JPG

When I moved into my Miami Beach condo 13 years ago, my mother was convinced I got cheated because my unit didn’t come with a garbage disposal in the sink. She was sure that the builder included that feature in each apartment and mine was overlooked.

I told her right there and then that l lived without a garbage disposal all of my life and I didn’t want one. I had the most horrible thoughts about that contraption cutting off some of my fingers. A good old manual sink strainer was just perfect for me.

I remembered that story well when I saw a post from my girlfriend Leslie on Facebook about a new type of strainer that allows you to remove the the collected waste without touching it. Called the Tweak strainer, the invention is made from a flexible polymer and comes in a variety of colors.

The Israeli company that invented it said on its Facebook page that, “It works by simply applying pressure to a bump on the edge which then bends the strainer so that you can carry whatever refuse that it has collected to the garbage without touching any of it.” There are two sizes, one for the kitchen and a larger one for bath tub. Price is around $12 for both.

Tweak was started by Nitzan Shafat and Aviv Rozenfeld. They successfully crowdfunded the company on Kickstarter.com. They received $78,642 in funding from almost 3,000 investors. Their goal was only $14,000.

Tweak just started distributing this unique strainer to donors and then it will be available to the general public.

Leave a Reply

