Facebook May Become An Old Age Home

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/73e/34894369/files/2014/12/img_1635.png Image: BIA Kelsey

I used to follow many more teenagers on Facebook. I started to notice, about a year ago, that fewer of them were posting on a regular basis, but I didn’t pay much attention to it.

Then, about two months ago an 18 year old friend confided that she had to get off Facebook because her mother and grandmother were stalking her. “Excuse me?” I didn’t quite understand. She said her family knew too much about her life and posted embarrassing remarks under her comments or photos. She wanted her independence so she decided that Facebook was not for her.

CNET, a tech site, just posted information by research firm Frank N. Magid Associates which claims more and more teens are abandoning Facebook. “The percentage of teens ages 13 to 17 who use Facebook in the United States fell to 88 percent this year from 94 percent in 2013.

Magid Associates said that teens are now using Instagram (owned by Facebook) and messaging apps like Snapchat. They feel those platforms are safer and trustworthy. Facebook’s has had a number privacy problems over the years. I think they were hacked a few times.

I’m willing to bet that teens are leaving Facebook for the reasons I stated above which has nothing to do with the Facebook’s infrastructure. The other social media platforms don’t really provide the stage that moms and grandmothers can view.

I have to admit that Facebook was much more exciting when more younger people participated. Everyday I got to witness trends in pop culture that I would be otherwise clueless about. It’s turning out that I just may have to get more active in other social media platforms if I want to stay informed.

Leave a Reply

