Selfie Extension Arms, The Hot Holiday Item

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/73e/34894369/files/2014/12/img_3166-0.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/73e/34894369/files/2014/12/img_3167.jpg
I took both these photos at Merrick Park, Coral Gables. FL, on Sunday. I found it interesting that a gal was sitting alone taking pictures of herself.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/73e/34894369/files/2014/12/img_3195-0.jpg
This morning, I came across a young couple using the same kind of selfie stick to take a picture of themselves on a pier in South Pointe Park.

Everywhere I go now, I’m seeing more and more people using selfie extension arms (SEAs). It seems to be all the rage. It’s so popular that there is a severe shortage of SEA’s this holiday season. Again, I don’t know how this trend started, but I want in. It occurred to me that a SEA could help me with some future business opportunities.

I needed to find one. I put Eliot on the case. Best Buy and Radio Shack were out. He found two different units that are possibilities on Amazon. He bought both because we are not sure which one will be available before New Year’s.

I want to use a SEA for DigiDame blog posts, CES booth visits and stories that I plan to write for others in the future.
My question is, “why do we all suddenly seem to need an SEA?”
If I would have seen someone using a SEA in the past, I would have thought he or she was eccentric. Now I think they are totally cool.

Here is the brand, specs and price of the SEA I bought. It’s the Satechi: Selfie Bluetooth Extension Arm Monopod for individual and groups. Up to 3 feet away. The controls are on the monopad and it weighs 5.6 ounces. Its foldable design makes it compact (9.6”) and portable enough to fit into a backpack, carry-on bag. One can also attach it via the included wrist strap to a belt loop or backpack strap.

Available at: Satechi.net and Amazon.com. Price: $39.99 Website: http://www.satechi.net.

One thought on “Selfie Extension Arms, The Hot Holiday Item

Leave a Reply

