The Uber of Alterations  

 
George Zimmer has a new gig. It will keep you in stitches.  Image: Fortune.com.

I just spent the last few days throwing out thousands of dollars of clothes. Everything went to a staff member at our NY co-op. This isn’t the first time that I have done that. Every time I lose weight, I get rid of the fat clothes and everytime I gain weight, bye bye smaller sizes.  I’m not telling you which stage I am at now, but let me just say those late night ice cream sodas have been very enjoyable. After one or two wears, I really start to dislike a lot of the clothes I impulsively buy. If I could get the money back for all those wasted clothes, I would be able to send a few kids to college.

I have tried the alteration route as well. Taking clothes in or letting them out can be a tricky business. Most of the time, the altered garments never look quite as good as its original shape. I’m lucky that I have a fabulous seamstress directly across the street from me in NY. I can drop the clothes off in the morning and have the alterations done by the afternoon. 

For those of you who are not as lucky, George Zimmer, the founder of Men’s Wearhouse, has created an app that will be the Uber of alterations. Zimmer’s new company, zTailors, is a website and app, that provides on-demand tailors who are ready to make house calls.

Zimmer, 66, said he believes that zTailors (the “z” is for Zimmer) — “has the potential to transform millions of ill-fitting garments into like-new items.” Americans everywhere will now be able to schedule a tailor to make a house call. zTailors has already been operating in several major cities around the country. Almost 600 tailors are on board. Zimmer plans to be in all 50 states later this year with more than 1,000 tailors in the system.

You have to read more about it in The New York Times. I think this business idea is a natural and before too long, Zimmer will once again be bellowing,  “You’re going to like the way you look. I guarantee it.”

My first Zentangle. Thank you Whitney

 

Leave a Reply

