96 Years Young, Yoga

Don’t miss watching this video if you want to grow older, healthy, and in good spirits. It is extremely inspirational and it will give you great hope. Thank you to my good friend Dr. Williams Lucena, for sharing this with me.    

Make Up Your Mind, Amazon

I am so confused. I embraced the digital world in my 60s, like I was 20. I have trained myself to write all of my notes on my iPhone (no paper). I read everything online ( no print). I mainly communicate through social networks (I cut back on telephone use). I completely turned my life around to fit into the digital revolution. 

You can imagine my dismay when I learned that Amazon recently decided to open 300 to 400 brick-and-mortar bookstores in the coming years. I felt like someone told me the last few years didn’t exist. I hope it did.

What the heck is this all about? Don’t get me wrong. I love bookstores. It was very much a part of my social life. Eliot and I would spend hours roaming through the shelves of bookstores in our neighborhood, or when we went to new cities. We would spend a hundred plus dollars every visit. It was our fantasyland.

But all that has changed. The hours we spent in book and record stores, are now devoted to exploring the Internet. I love Amazon for many reasons, but I don’t understand why they are now reversing their corporate culture. All they are going to do is put whatever bookstores are left out of business

This is another case of the big, getter bigger. 

 

2 thoughts on “96 Years Young, Yoga

  1. I had dinner with Federico Felini in 1984 at the time video tapes were all the rage and Hollywood was very nervous. I asked him if he thought they would eventually destroy going to movies and his answer was direct and simple, “you can’t replace the human experience of a theater – you laugh, she laughs and everyone begins to laugh”. That is similar is similar to a brick and mortar experience, you touch the merchandise, smell the leather, feel the velvet – it is a much richer more human experience.

Leave a Reply

