My Emails, Etc., Now Talk To Me

Presentation Magazine



I am probably on my iPhone, or iPad, more than anyone in the world. I can’t imagine anyone who uses these devices more than me. 

I use it for everything: telephone calls,  address book, camera, emails, texts, social media, news alerts, charity work, fund raising, apps, games, newspapers, books, research, shopping, photo storage, coloring, blogs, videos, music, movies, tv shows, and about 20 other things. 

You can’t imagine my excitement when I learned tonight, from a WordPress buddy,  that I can now have everything read to me on my iPhone.  That means by enabling the “accessibility setting,” I can make my iPhone read the text of whatever I happen to be looking at. Yes, texts, emails, magazines, Google, Wikipedia, on and on.

This feature is so important to seniors. I find that unless I really wash my face thoroughly when I wake up in the morning, or take a shower immediately thereafter, the type on my iPhone becomes blurry and faded. 

If I have an urgent work deadline early in the day, this has been a problem. Not anymore. I will just have the words read to me. We all get the choice of the type of voice and language we want to hear. 

I wanted to get you the best explanation on how to make this all work. I found that CNET had the best details. Thank you Matt Elliott of CNET for a really cool story. Click here for the post.

Here is a quick look at what Matt says. 

“To enable the setting, head to Settings > General > Accessibility > Speech and toggle the switch on for Speak Screen.

“With this setting enabled, you can swipe down with two fingers from the top edge of your screen and a voice will begin reading whatever text is on the screen. A small control panel appears that lets you pause the speaking voice, skip slightly forward and back, and speed up or slow down the speaking rate.”

I’m now celebrating my new iPhone feature, the Cubs historical win, and the first woman President of the United States. 


 

One thought on “My Emails, Etc., Now Talk To Me

Leave a Reply

