I Don’t Like This At All 

Courtesy of Associated Press

I would never agree to allowing anyone to implant a microchip in my hand. It’s not that I am worried about people monitoring my whereabouts, it’s just that I would never want a foreign object in me. I would be afraid that years from now the authorities would say that the chip was laced with poison. 

All kidding aside, I was horrified to learn that a Swedish company called Epicenter is planning to place chips in their employees. It’s difficult to believe that the chips (the size of a grain of rice) are to monitor bathroom breaks and how many hours they work.  What’s the real truth? 

It worries me that workers are agreeing to this kind of behavior. Or are they? Patrick Mesterton, co-founder and chief executive of Epicenter, a technology company, was quoted on CNBC as saying, “The microchips inserted into employees’ hands simplify their lives.”

He implied that workers can now automatically operate certain devices and communicate by just waving their hands. Many folks think this is a cool advantage. He also justifies his company’s actions by saying that people have been implanting devices under their skin for decades, including pacemakers. It’s not as uncommon as we think. 

That may be true but I’m concerned that people who desperately need jobs in the future will allow themselves be treated like farm animals. As far as I’m concerned, anyone who wears a chip is being programmed and watched in ways we can’t begin to imagine. 

Our future is getting mighty scary.

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Like This At All 

  1. As for implanting a “foreign object in me,” I assume you’re ignoring pacemakers, heart valve replacements, joint repair, etc. Also devices that deliver precisely timed/measured doses of medication. I’ve done a bit of research over the years on implants (mostly health/medical). This particular device appears to be solely intended for surveillance – and THAT raises a totally different range of issues. About 20 years ago, when I was on a radio talk show about such developments, most of the callers who phoned in firmly believed that such chips were part of a government mind-control conspiracy.

Leave a Reply

