Getting “The Clap” Is A Good Thing  


The strangest thing happened to me the last time I went to the hairdresser. Instead of flat ironing my hair after the blow dry process, a New York City hairdresser asked if he could “clap me.”

I don’t know why, but I automatically said “yes.” He proceeded to rub his hands together for a full minute. Then he clapped for 15 seconds, and finally placed his hands on my hair shaping it into place. 

It was a “hair” miracle. My hair was straighter than ever. I couldn’t believe my eyes. For several years, I have been straightening my hair with a flat iron, and now this guy managed to do it by clapping his hands. 

“How did you do that?” I asked. He told me that some Eastern European hair dresser showed him that styling method as a way to replace the use of a flat iron, which dries out your hair. I was grateful and amused. 

For the next few days, I thought about the clapping process quite a bit. In addition to the usual applause, I have seen clapping used for healing purposes, in prayer, to chase away wild animals, and to get a newly-married couple to kiss.

Unexpectedly, I just found clapping to be used for music as well. A very famous song was performed by The Angel City Chorale a few years ago with a clapping introduction. It was first recorded in 1982 and became a huge hit.

Check out the clapping version in the top video and then the original song in the second one. I promise you will find the clapping one very inspirational. 

Let me know how clapping impacts you. 

Thank you 

 

3 thoughts on “Getting “The Clap” Is A Good Thing  

Leave a Reply

