To TV Or Not TV, That Is The Question 

Seth Godin

Seth Godin is an American author, entrepreneur, marketer, and public speaker.

He is quite popular on the Internet. Many people who are involved in the digital world follow him on social media and read his blog. 

I thought you would be interested in what he has to say about people who watch a lot of television.

You can click on his blog here or read his words below. I cut and pasted it for you. 

“It turns out that the more you watch TV, the more you believe that the world is dangerous. It turns out TV watchers believe that an astonishing 5% of the population works in law enforcement. And it turns out that the more you watch TV the less optimistic you become. Cultivation theory helps us understand the enormous power that TV immersion has.

“Given the overwhelming power of interaction, I’m confident that we’ll discover that internet exposure, particularly to linkbait headlines, comments and invective, will also change what people believe about the world around them.
It’s hopeful to imagine that we can change these outcomes by changing the inputs. Of course, the hard part is choosing to do so.

“Every time I see a toddler in a stroller with an internet device in hand, I shudder. If we want a better future, it helps to be able to see the world as it is.”


Posted by Seth Godin on August 10, 2017

My retort. 

“I have a much different opinion. I am grateful to be living in a world where we have so much access to information. I want to hear and read as much as I can about what’s going on today,  even if that means that I’m glued to my TV set and Internet devices. 

“While a lot of what I learn though electronic communications may be depressing, it also makes me stronger to succeed in a personal and business level. I do spend a great deal of time interacting with electronic communications because it has educated me beyond any expectation I ever could have had for myself. If it wasn’t for the Internet, I wouldn’t know who Seth Grodin is. Don’t fear electronic communications. Embrace it. You will always have time for live events.”

2 thoughts on “To TV Or Not TV, That Is The Question 

  1. I read about Seth three years ago, when I was thinking about starting a blog. He had some great suggestions, and I learned from him. I’m not thrilled when toddlers are introduced to electronic devices either. I think their nervous systems are too immature to mess with, and they need time to develop by being in the real world. But at the same time, I’m fascinated by everything technological, and am a sucker for the next big thing! Being a retired senior allows me to experiment and learn at my own pace. Can’t imagine how working young people manage to keep up! But (sigh) they are young!

Leave a Reply

