Two Hours With ABBA And Suddenly “I’m The Dancing Queen”

I must be living under a rock. I don’t remember anyone ever telling me how fabulous Stockholm is. Yes, a few people mentioned they had a good time cruising through the Scandinavian countries, but no one ever emphasized that this is a “must see” and “must experience” place on earth. 

I received several emails from friends saying this city is one of their favorite places once they saw my Stockholm photos on Facebook. I wish they would have told me about it before. They are so well traveled, they probably assumed I knew.  

Stockholm is a combination of Paris and Venice. It’s situated on 14 islands. Eliot and I spent the day on the Hop/On Hop/Off Water Taxis visiting various places. It was so convenient when we went to the Vasa Museum, the ABBA Museum, the Nobel Museum, Gamla Stan (the old town), the Royal Palace, and several waterfront restaurants. 

The Vasa Museum (Swedish: Vasamuseet) houses  a war ship that was miraculously salvaged 333 years after it sank on its maiden voyage in 1628. The Vasa story is known worldwide because of its tragic 20 minute fiasco.

The Nobel Museum (Swedish: Nobelmuseet) is dedicated to the Nobel Prize, Nobel laureates from 1901 to present, and the life of the founder of the prize, Alfred Nobel (1833-1896). The inside architecture is exquisite. 

The ABBA museum made me feel like I was a teenager again. The establishment houses the Swedish rock group’s costumes, gold records, original musical equipment, memorabilia, rehearsal studios, and cars. An audio companion gadget, from display to display, gave us their entire story.

The big bonus was that we were able to sing karaoke with ABBA tunes and insert ourselves dancing with ABBA in pre-recorded videos. Eliot and I were so bad he wouldn’t let me buy the recordings. I was laughing so hard, I almost had an accident. 

Hope everyone at home and those vacationing are doing well.

This should only be true.

Two hours of laughs and great memories.

Beautiful architecture.

Stunning buildings.

Ferry rides were so refreshing.

Thrilled to have witnessed where it all happens.

We can’t believe we learned this part of history.

What a tragedy.

Eliot had to get every angle.

The materials used to preserve won’t last forever.

The details are amazing.

You don’t see frills like this anymore.

3 thoughts on “Two Hours With ABBA And Suddenly “I’m The Dancing Queen”

  1. Touring Stockholm with ABBA tunes resonating in your head sounds like a dream come true! My only experience with Scandinavian countries is a stop over in Finland on a flight. But at least I can say I’ve been there!

  2. Looks so fantastic. Stockholm has been on my wish list forever. I’m so glad your experience is so incredible. New motivation to get there sooner than later. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

